Can I Face Criminal Penalties for a Hit and Run?
We are human beings and because of this we are not perfect all of the time. However, because we are human, whenever we are in the wrong, one of two things tends to happen: We accept whatever consequences come from our actions or we flee from the harm that our actions have caused. Facing the consequences is admirable, but fleeing the scene of an incident can have huge consequences. This is especially true when there is a hit and run accident. If you or a loved one have been charged with a hit and run you should contact an experienced Virginia hit and run attorney to look into your case.
What is a Hit and Run?
A hit and run is a car accident with either an object, another car, or a pedestrian, in which the driver intentionally leaves the scene without leaving proper contact information. When there is a hit and run, the crime is committed as soon as you leave the scene of an accident that you have caused without following proper protocol.
What are the Consequences of a Hit and Run?
In Virginia, it is illegal to leave an accident without following the proper protocol set out in Virginia’s laws. Generally, whenever you are involved in a car accident, you are required to wait at the scene until the police arrive and investigate. Virginia Code Section 46.2-894 states that if a driver is involved in an accident with an injured person, or damaged property, the driver is required to stop and report his or her name, address, driver’s license number, and vehicle registration number to Virginia Police or to the other driver or occupant of the other vehicle. If the vehicle or property is unattended, the driver should make a reasonable effort to identify the owner of the vehicle or property, and if he or she cannot be located, the driver should leave a note that includes the driver’s identification and contact information as well as contact Virginia police to report the accident.
Depending on your circumstances, your hit and run charge will be considered either a misdemeanor or a felonious offense and the punishments can include fines up to $2,500, imprisonment up to five years, and a suspension of your driver’s license. Lastly, the law imposes a duty on the passenger as well as the driver of a vehicle stating that any person that is 16 years of age or older who is with the driver at the time of an accident has a duty to report the accident and may face liability if he or she does not.
Need Legal Advice?
Though you may be scared to face the consequences of a hit and run, it is better to face them than to have to face hit and run charges coupled with whatever charge may stem from the auto accident itself. If you or a loved one have been charged with a hit and run, contact an experienced hit and run attorney at Law Office of Faraji A. Rosenthall so that we can strategize about the best possible outcomes for your case. Contact our office today for an initial consultation.